Follow Us On Follow us on Twitter Watch us on YouTube
Register
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Default Anybody seen this?

    A friend of mine sent me a email this morning of a US guy on ebay selling a CD full of LCARS, on looking I had noticed a few* are made by me, I'm sure without doubt other LCARS screens are by some members of this forum as well, such as Bill.* I have emailed the guy, but cutrrently he is ignorring my email.

    Take a look 800 LCARS screens for $8, sad don't you think, as he must be desperate for cash?

    Link here: http://cgi.ebay.com/STAR-TREK-LCARS-ANI ... 911.c0.m14

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Interlaken (Switzerland)
    Posts
    1,553
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    bad news indeed. you should insist at ebay to not aloud him to sale this stuff. i'm shure, that he will not respond. but if you say them at ebay, that you will sue them they will do something. sorry for that.
    LCARS GREY EMINENCE

  3. #3

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    I've just logged the incident at ebay. Also contacted other LCARS animators who's work I can recognise on the video's. We see if it works!

  4. #4

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    Hi guys,

    a few weeks ago the same thing happened to me, when somebody from the UK was selling my graphics as finished props (mostly ID cards) on eBay-UK.

    First I sent a him an email asking if he is aware of what he's doing, *after a while I sent for every item I recognized as my work an email to eBay for a stolen artwork.

    After that he replied to me that he stopped all auctions with my and other peoples artwork, because he only wanted to offer cheap props and doesn't want to be the bad guy. There was a hot discussion about him on the RPF .

    Dietrich
    Never give up - Never surrender!

  5. #5
    aka explorer
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    868
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    Yeah thats really bad.
    Alot of these are from LCARSMANIA.com Not a big fan of that site in general. Especially when I saw that they manage to vectorialize one of my earlier drawing.

    Here's mine
    http://www.lcarsc.com/index.php?topic=583.0

    And you can download "their" version here.
    http://www.lcarsmania.com/lcarsanimation_adm08.htm look for #148

  6. #6

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    Hmmm, explorer, Nothing surprises me anymore.

    I'm sure these people are only too well aware of what they are doing. It was by sheer luck today that a friend of mine living in South Africa emailed me. Otherwise I would not have known about it. *It is a global market now. All we have is the ability to do our best to stop it.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    I've heard from people who had purchased what seems to be an old version of LCARS 24 on eBay asking me how to configure it to run under Windows, which the seller advertised it to do. I told them it was a ripoff, since it's freeware and not for Windows. The advertising raves about what it can do but shows very old screenshots.

    Ugh!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    Well this incident is now closed, as ebay has intervened. :)

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Interlaken (Switzerland)
    Posts
    1,553
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default Re: Anybody seen this?

    good to hear that-
    LCARS GREY EMINENCE

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Delaware, USA
    Posts
    106

    Angry

    Well, it didn't take long for sombody to "lift" my work too. I don't mind if people link to my videos, or even embed them, at least they're unmodified. But to hack them to pieces, changing the look completely from what I feel to be an authentic recreation to a slap-dash "blinky-box" is ridiculous, considering you can download a screensaver from my site with all the animations included for free! On top of that, he added references to his website and then offers copies of his, er my, er his videos without the added text. Oh brother, at least he isn't charging for this "service".

    I hate to promote this, but to see what I mean, take a look at this.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts